What is an extant woman?

ex·tant

[ek-stuhnt, ik-stant]

–adjective

1. in existence; still existing; not destroyed or lost.

2. Archaic. standing out; protruding.

To be an extant woman is to recognize that even though, at times, I feel that I am not all that I want to be, I am still in existence. By the grace of God, I have not been destroyed or lost. There are days that I feel lost…..very lost, but in reality, I am not lost at all. I have come to a place in my life that I am no longer going to accept my challenges and struggles as “normal.” I can make a change. I can find resolve with these issues that have followed me for years. So this is my journey. It may be difficult at times. It may be dark. I feel sure that, quite often,  it will be comical. I have no doubt that there will be happy days and triumph on occasion. I am not going to promise that it will always be exciting or bright, but the one thing that I promise myself is that it will be…… real. I will commit to transparent authenticity with my thoughts,  my struggles, and my achievements.  I firmly believe the truth will set you free. I am still existing. I am not destroyed or lost. I am an extant woman. It‘s time to turn the page.

Leave a Reply

