Answers

There has recently been a combination of things that have really gotten my attention. While talking with my counselor, she helped me recognize that my relationship with food went well past eating for nutritional needs.  She started referring to my issues as an “eating disorder.” Initially, I could not wrap my mind around that. When I think of someone with an eating disorder, I think of an 80 pound girl staring into a mirror with her bones protruding through her skin. Now, THAT girl has a problem …..a “disorder.” My issues are that I don’t have self control….I eat too much ….. especially when I’m upset … and I don’t exercise enough. That’s all. Oh, really? According to Wikipedia…..” An eating disorder is characterized by abnormal eating habits that may involve either insufficient or excessive food intake to the detriment of an individual’s physical and emotional health.” Ouch. Well, I’m not a fan of labels. I especially do not like it when people use a label as a way of dismissing any personal responsibility. Nonetheless, my psychologist offered a book to me called, “Life Without Ed” (Ed being “eating disorder”). It was very informative, humorous and thought provoking. This was my first major reality check in this mission….my first answer to prayer in this pilgrimage.

Leave a Reply

