Be kind

I find myself having this continual negativity about my body. I don’t think I’m a negative person. I try to be positive with other people, but when it comes to me….I’m not always kind. I have a good friend that always says “Be kind to yourself.” I need to work on that. I have been praying lately that God help me replace my disgust and find contentment with my body. So….. I’m not going to project any more negativity on this vessel that God has blessed me with. This stomach…..rather than staring at the pudge and the stretch marks, I am going to thank God that this stomach carried two beautiful healthy babies.  These breasts …that are no longer where I want them to be…. are what nourished those same perfect babies… and these flabby arms….are what rocked them to sleep. These untoned, varicose veined legs have carried me around the world from Pocola to Paris. This frizzy, nappy, untamed hair was picked by God’s design. These eyes have allowed me to see Gods creation and because of these ears, I can hear the sweet melodies of the earth ….the oceans waves…the birds song… the laughter of a child. But this heart…this heart has been miraculously beating and pumping life through me for 36 years….and this heart….is where I want a makeover…. not just my body.

Wow….when I look at it that way…maybe I am “wonderfully made” =)

God, forgive me, I will no longer speak ill of Your creation.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    May 11, 2010 @ 08:15:29

    So beautiful! I was fixated up to this point by reading..not wanting to stop. But right here I wept. What a lovely picture of who we truly are. I love you so much and thank you for giving me a new set of eyes to see myself. I love your writing as always and look forward to reading more!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

