More Answers

The next thing that I felt came to me as a result of earnest prayer was a video that my instructor shared with our class. If you have not seen the movie “Supersize Me,” you must. It was an incredible eye opener for me. A friend of mine has been telling me to watch it for quite some time, but I had not seen it. Perhaps I wasn’t ready to understand yet. This message hit home loud and clear. It really explains the science of it all. It details why we get a rush from chemicals in food and why we would rather eat when we need comfort. There were times when the main character felt depressed after a big meal…at least until he got the next one. Incredible.  Basically, I have been training my body to crave junk and continue the cycle of eating to feel good…then feeling bad….so then I eat to feel good again.  All the while, never giving consideration to nutritional needs… just jumping from one “high” to the next.  Very eye opening. The next inspiring answer to pray came through another book. Women Food and God….  Powerful read. It is as if this book took a picture of my life and wrapped words around it. For the first time ever, I am asking myself the hard questions….. and I am digging deep to find the courage to truly answer them.

Leave a Reply

