Day Fourteen

How did this happen? When did I cross over? Have I really become that person who falls asleep before 10:00 on a Friday night and then wakes up at 6:15 on a Saturday morning?!?! Without an alarm!! Seriously? Since I have been making healthy choices for my body, for the most part, I am sleeping much better. This week, I woke up before the alarm went off almost every morning. And I feel great!…not dragging myself out of bed to start the day. Very cool.

Since I was up so early this morning, I went out and greeted the day from our deck. It was so peaceful. The birds were beautiful to watch and listening to their songs reminded me of a story that I read years ago.

A friend of mine had written about a time that she was praying in her room. Outside her window she heard the birds chirping and was reminded of the scripture in Matthew 10  —

29Are not two sparrows sold for a penny[d]? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father. 30And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. 31So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.”

She thought about the birds and this scripture and wondered… if God cares so much for a sparrow and the sparrow, with its tiny little bird brain, rests in the care of the Father, then God, please make me a bird brain!!

I cannot see a beautiful bird (and where I live, there are many) with it’s effortless grace soaring through the air without thinking of that story. So to borrow from my friend, God, today I ask…please make me a bird brain. LOL Please let me not worry about so many things….please let me rest in Your care.

It was a great day for my work-outs! I set a crazy goal for myself and I did it! I usually burn about 200 calories during my 20 minutes on the elliptical. For some crazy reason, today I thought to myself….I bet I could burn 500 calories today. (Don’t know where that came from!!) Well, I think I only half-heartedly thought I could do it, so when I started I began making all kinds of excuses…20 minutes would be good enough…if you get tired…it’s OK to stop…yata, yata, yata….. and then I don’t know what kicked in…but something did!! I not only did an ab workout, I spent 50 minutes on the elliptical and burned 500 calories!! It was awesome! I felt like I was having a “Last Chance Workout!” LOL

Thank You Father for blessing my body and for the tiny birds that remind me of your care!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    May 18, 2010 @ 09:18:12

    Such powerful and wise words. I love the simplicity of your thinking. Today I will try and be a bird brain too!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

