Day Eighteen

Comfort. We all need it, we all crave it. From where we chose to seek comfort is often a problem and sometimes what we consider “comfortable” can be a problem. It is comfortable to stay in our old routines….sometimes it is comfortable to remain in toxic relationships…. buying the quick and easy dinners so that we can spend our evening on the couch is comfortable. What I am learning is that it takes great courage to be uncomfortable sometimes. The interesting thing is… by focusing on the uncomfortable things rather than the things that truly bring genuine comfort; I have been missing out on so much.

Today I decided to take my workout outside. I went for a walk/run…..meaning I walked a whole lot and attempted to run several times. I am not a runner. I have tried taking up running before, and I enjoyed it, but just like so many things, I did not stick with it. When I first began this morning I set little goals….like I’m going to run from this mailbox to that street sign or from this power line to that fence. Baby steps …but steps nonetheless. As I was walking, I was thinking about comfort and how the walking part was OK but the running was not very comfortable. For instance, it is not comfortable when your thighs touch or when your body feels like jello as each foot pounds the pavement. If I focused on those things, I could easily talk myself into turning around and going home. So I decided to focus on the beauty around me instead. I started to really feel the clean crisp air after a rainy day. I noticed details that I have driven by every day for years but failed to see. I stopped to feed a horse the thick, luscious grass from the ditch (because in some cases, the grass really is greener on the other side). I watched the breeze cause peaceful ripples as it swept across the resaca. And did you know that some cows actually do have those adorable curly eyelashes and that it’s not just in storybooks?

I changed my focus about what was comfortable and I walked/ran 4.6 miles. It felt great! It was such a peaceful time of …well, I would say solitude….but I don’t really feel that I was alone =).

“May your unfailing love be my comfort, according to your promise to your servant.”  Psalm 119:76

Leave a Reply

