Day Nineteen

This may sound silly…but I am actually giddy!! I bought sun-dried tomatoes today!! Me!!! The woman whose kids have primarily eaten hot dogs, ramen noodles and Hamburger Helper most of their lives!! I have been learning to cook in a whole new way and it’s so cool! I am buying spices and herbs that I didn’t even know how to pronounce much less what to do with them! This is big! Working in the kitchen has not really ever been a strength of mine. However, I am loving our new way of life.

Recently someone asked me if eating this way has been more expensive. Surprisingly, it has not. When I consider how much money I spent on fast food, the meat market and all of those processed foods, I’m actually saving money … and eating better than I ever have!  I have found many helpful recipes online that are within my guidelines. I must admit, when I used to see recipes like this, I would always get intimidated because I didn’t know what some of it was….or what to do with it…or where to buy it. I am happy to report that with the exception of one item (Bragg-a soy sauce alternative), I have found everything to completely makeover my fridge and pantry from…….. Wal-Mart. Who would have thought?

I have now lost 13 pounds and people are starting to notice. It is very encouraging. Today I made some banana bread (Daniel fast style) and it was awesome. I shared it with a few friends and neighbors and no one could believe it wasn’t full of sugar. I am realizing that I have lived a lifetime of looking past the natural God given goodness and choosing MANufactured foods!!  Those days are over!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    May 21, 2010 @ 13:14:24

    Congtatulations!!! I want that bannana bread recipe!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

