Day Twenty-Five

How can this be happening?

Have you ever heard a thin and healthy person say “I forgot to eat….I was just so busy…I forgot to eat today”….????? That has always sounded so foreign to me. Actually, more like annoying!!! When I hear something like that, my natural reaction is to scoff and think: …WHATEVER!! You are “forgetting to eat” while I am obsessing about my next caloric consumption …. Let’s see….Will I get a McGriddle for breakfast or Krispy Kream donuts?  Oh no, I have to put gas in the car…Do I want a Snickers and a coke or a Reeses with a Dr. Pepper?  I never could understand how a person could “forget to eat.”

Over the past few days, lo and behold, I’m “forgetting.” I’m forgetting to obsess….I’m forgetting to depend upon…I’m forgetting to seek my joy from food. This is incredible to me! I am living my full and busy life and I am growing leaps and bounds in my spiritual walk…. And I am “forgetting” about my misplaced and compulsive dependency.

So how can this be happening to me? I think Carrie Underwood says it best….

Jesus, take the wheel
Take it from my hands
Cause I can’t do this on my own

I’m letting go
So give me one more chance
To save me from this road I’m on
Jesus, take the wheel

Leave a Reply

