Day Thirty

Did I type that right? Did I read that correctly? Is this really Day Thirty??!! What an unbelievable journey!

Oh how I wish I could express to you how amazing these past few weeks have been! Thank you all for your support and your prayers. My journey is nowhere near over, but this has absolutely been the most incredible experience. As for the future, I may not continue the total Daniel’s fast, but I do know for sure that I cannot and will not turn back. God has brought me so far and I have learned so much through truly seeking Him that I could never return to my old ways of thinking. Crazy, huh? I just asked Him…. truly sought Him… and believed that He would show me the way. I feel that I have returned Home and I am so grateful.

My body has changed…. I went from 195 to 179. My outlook has improved. My guilt and shame have been replaced with joy and peace. My relationships have been strengthened. My burden of past issues has been lifted. My surroundings have become more beautiful. My finances have been surprisingly blessed. My understanding has been broadened. All of these things have been wonderful….but I assure you, the above blessings are only the icing on the cake! (No pun intended =)

The REAL deal…the most mind-boggling part of this whole thing…is how much my spirit has been transformed. I became a Christian when I was 15 years old, but I don’t know that I have ever felt the love, acceptance and presence of God in my life as I have over the past 30 days. When you are seeking him, and your need for Him in your life by an experience like fasting, it is amazing how often you pray!! LOL  Why did I not ever think to ask Him before to take this life altering burden from me? Why did I carry this secret for so long and allow my life to be overtaken by this stronghold? For me to realize now that He really was just a (phone) call away….and that He really does care about these things….. man, I wasted a lot of time and suffered so much unnecessary heartache.

One of the most valuable things I have learned is that …. What concerns you…concerns God. He doesn’t want me to carry the WEIGHT of this burden by myself. He has a plan for our lives and this painful grief of mishandling his provisions was never meant to be a part of it. He tells us over and over that he wants us to have an abundant life, not defeated, not destroyed or lost….but an abundantly extant life!

Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you. 1 Peter 5:7

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 08:35:28

    Congratulations! I am so proud of you. I wish I was there to hug you. My prayer for you is that you continue to seek God first. That no matter what happens down the road, you remember this time and continue to grow from it. What an inspiration you have been to so many. It has been a blessing to join you along this journey. Who knew letting the world in would be so cleansing. You are an amazing woman….an extant woman! :} I am so glad to know that I will be there as God lays out His glorious plan for your life…..maybe not in person but always in love and friendship. Hugs and kisses to the family and I can’t wait to see you in October!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

