Lovin’ my Roots

Apparently, I owe you an apology. I have been “reprimanded” (lol) by some of my readers for not writing in a week. No, I did not fall off the wagon and go on a week long binge! I’ve just been on vacation. =)

I took my fiancé and my children back to my home town on the Arkansas-Oklahoma state line. I wanted to remind my children where they were born and show my fiancé where I grew up. We had an exceptionally wonderful time! It was awesome to visit my family and friends and introduce them to the love of my life.

Whether it’s a long vacation or short day trip, for someone with food issues, road trips are open invitations to throw caution to the wind. I have done that for years. I would slip into that “vacation” mentality where anything goes…. and lots of it! Where I’m from, the portions are huge, mostly fried, greasy and smothered in ranch dressing or white gravy. Talk about soul food!! It’s a way of life lived without question …it’s just the way things are. Well, the way things were.

Let me tell ya, it was a week long party! I did indulge in family cook-outs and visiting some of my favorite local restaurants, but I was more aware of my choices. We celebrated with food quite often and I enjoyed some homemade special treats. One thing that I think I was more conscious of this time around was the size of my portions. I was satisfied with half of a cheeseburger from the grill made just the way I like it….so I stopped there. There was no reason to finish the whole thing and be miserable, so I stopped when I was satisfied, not stuffed. I requested take-out boxes from the restaurants, and while we would normally hit the drive-thru for the sake of convenience and habit, rather we stopped by fruit stands along the way. Not only was it a better and a healthier choice, it was much less expensive.

I took a few walks, but did not get in any real work outs, so I am feeling a little blah. I could feel the difference in my body from the change in my food choices and my lack of physical activity. When I returned home, I found that I was up two pounds. I am not upset by this at all. I had a great vacation and did not feel restricted.  Now it’s time to get back on track and get realigned with my mission….. refreshed and renewed with the positive energy from my home town!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 11:29:26

    Loved the catch up! Glad the trip went well!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

