Happiness?

I am one of those people (self-proclaimed) who lives in a bubble. I watch the news and I enjoy knowing what’s going on in the world, but I rarely get bent out of shape by current events…especially when it comes to politics. However……I am engaged to a very passionate and opinionated Conservative.  Oh, how I love God’s sense of humor.  =) I think my carefree spirit sometimes drives my fiancé crazy! Right or wrong…this is how I see it….

I believe in Genesis…. So I feel that I know how it all began. I believe in Revelations….. so I feel that I know how it will all end. Therefore, all of these details in the middle don’t really get me too worked up.

At least, that’s how I used to feel! I quite possibly may have found an issue that could turn this carefree spirit into a crazed lobbyist that may someday feel led to march on the lawn of that pretty white mansion. I am livid!

On my recent vacation, my family and I spent a lot of time in the car. At first, I was peeved when I would see an advertisement or hear a commercial about a food product making empty promises, but by the time I had traveled through three states, continually seeing and hearing these ads, I went from peeved to irate!

I am not purposely singling out McDonald’s, they have done that on their own, but when I saw their billboard with a large box of French fries next to the slogan “….box of happiness,” my blood began to boil. While listening to the radio, I heard the repeated invitation from Nestle NesQuik Double Chocolate Milk to “sip into my happy place.” What? Seriously?

Obviously, this hits home and I take it very personal. I am a 36 year old woman who fell in love with a clown and a brilliantly marketed meal that made me happy when I was a child. Never once have I questioned…. Does a happy meal not make you happy? I spent my life seduced by a top ad executive… sitting in a high rise office somewhere …..deciding to teach ME what happiness is…. (Laughing all the way to the bank, I’m sure). And I fell for it….hard.

Is this not the most clever plan of seduction? Seriously, what a perfect example of the very core of emotional eating. Teach them while they’re young! Throw in a toy to make it even more enticing! Build an oversized playpen! And we’ll all just be Happy, Happy, Happy!!! (and diabetic, and obese, and have high blood pressure, and sleep apnea…etc.)

Who doesn’t want happiness? If I can hit a drive-thru to get happiness then I won’t have to deal with my exhaustion….  my loneliness….  my frustrations. How is this OK? I can accept responsibility for myself and my issues, but I refuse to let my children be taught that happiness is found in a box of fries or a carton of chocolate milk!

As for me and my house…  No, thank you Mr. McDonald …. No, thank you NesQuik Bunny……we will know and experience true happiness….. and it won’t come from a box.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 11:59:44

    You hit the nail on the head. Awesome post.

    Reply

  2. forgivnsetfree
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 21:28:18

    Wow girl you truly have a gift w/ words. You are so right!! Sad I missed seeing you in the fort!

    Reply

  3. Teri
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 11:33:24

    I never looked at it that way. I will start looking at food advertisements with a more critical eye.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

