Perspective

I prayed for perspective…. and I got it.

As you may recall, a few days ago, I was very discouraged. In fact, I had quite the pity party. It was due, in part, to not seeing the scale move as I had hoped. Well, I want to share with you how God put this whole thing in perspective for me.

My day started off with a heart wrenching conversation with a friend who is devastated by the ending of his marriage. His obvious pain deeply hurt my heart. Later in the morning, I spoke to a friend who is facing an unimaginable battle over the custody of her children. This afternoon, another friend shared with me about the sickness that has jolted their family. And this evening, I had a long phone conversation with a friend who is very unhappy in her marriage and diligently awaiting Gods answers to her prayers.

Pain…. in one day, I saw so much pain in the lives of the people I love. My heart was so heavy. I prayed more in this one day than I have all week. I did not have time to think about my petty discouragements. I felt ashamed for being upset over something so silly as not seeing the scale move, when my friends are facing life-shattering discouragement. Talk about perspective.

Thank you God for helping me see things differently. Please make your presence known in the lives of those who are hurting. Please shine your light so brightly that we all may see with Your eyes!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 10:38:33

    Nicely put….i’m so addicted 2 ur blog…than you =)

    Reply

  2. extantwoman
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 13:17:52

    LOL thanks girl! I appreciate your support! Love ya!

    Reply

  3. Teri
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 18:13:38

    Beautiful! So often we entertain ideas that life could not get any worse…but it always can. Thank you for bringing light to His blessings that we receive each day simply by being healthy and unharmed. Love you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

