Amazing!

I have set a running goal for myself to reach by January (details coming soon in a future blog post!) I have never been much of a runner. I’ve had my moments, but not much distance. Based on my research about how to get started, I bought a stop watch and this morning I began to organize my training a little better.

With my dogs by my side and stop watch in hand, I set out down our wonderful country road to enjoy this beautiful morning. I read that when just starting out, it is best to walk/run/walk/run. So I walked for two minutes, then ran for one, walked for two, ran for one. To run for one minute does not sound all that challenging, but I assure you…in the beginning..it is. All in all, I ran 7 one minute intervals, walking in between each and also stopping by to visit with my neighborhood farmer, and was back home in 30 minutes.

It felt amazing! I loved the morning air, the swaying trees, the still and peaceful resaca… serenity at its best! My dogs obviously enjoyed it as well. They both trotted along in such arrogance with noses in the air. It was as if they were saying to the fenced-in dogs …in such a distinguished voice… “My owner takes me for a run. Pfffhh!” It was adorable. We all enjoyed it. And now I feel energized to tackle my day!

And to think….I had an exceptionally wonderful start to my day… all in the time it would take to sit and watch a sitcom… Amazing!

Thank You God for your blessings that are all around us………

….. if we choose to look =)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 13:31:23

    really proud of you! sounds nice…maybe one day 🙂

    Reply

  2. extantwoman
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 15:07:33

    Maybe one day? How about in 6 months!?!?

    Do it with me, Shelly! I have a post with details going up this week, but I will be running the bridge in January… remember the bridge?!?! The one that I have been saying for 7 years that I was gonna run?!?!? This is it! Do it with me!! We have 6 months to train…we can do this!! TOGETHER!! like we have for 30 years!! LOL Think about it! We’ll train one minute at a time! Love ya!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

