A-Ha!

Emphasized by Oprah, we recognize an “A-ha moment” as a sudden realization of something big. We make a connection and feel enlightened with a new discovery. For most people, an A-ha moment happens within an instant.

And then there’s me….

…. Maybe it’s because I can be a little slow, maybe it’s because of my stubborn hard- headedness, or maybe it’s because I have used too much bleach on my hair over the years… but my experience has been more like… …”aaaaaAAAAAAhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!”   I guess it just takes me a little longer than the average person, but I get it now.

My Aha moment can be summed up like this:

There is no finish line.

A finish line is a line marking the end of a race. Probably due to years of yo yo dieting , my mindset has been that I can do this…. for now… yet not realizing that subconsciously, I am already planning that after “the finish line” I will go back to what I’m used to. I did not realize that was my approach until  my derailment a few weeks ago. Everyone, even myself, throws around the cliché that “it’s a lifestyle change.” I hear those words, but until my aha moment of understanding there is no finish line, I didn’t really get it. I have seen first hand what happens when you reach “a finish line” and revert back to your old ways. Hours and hours of progress and hard work can be destroyed so very quickly. So maybe it would be better if I looked at the end of each day as a finish line. If I can meet the end of my day having fueled this machine properly and worked its miraculous components, then I am winning the race… I am reaching the finish line every day. Hmmm, let’s see… I can white knuckle my way through a program or a fitness commitment and then go backwards or I can just accept the fact that to feel good and make my machine effective and strong, I must provide daily maintenance. Plain and simple…eat clean and move. If I do it correctly, I get optimal performance and an extension of time to be productive. Not a bad gig!?!

Thank you Father God for being patient with me and allowing me to slowly but surely, have my Aha moment!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bendedspoon
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 23:51:05

    i will try this. no more yo-yo. it will be eat and run and fun! 🙂

    Reply

    • extantwoman
      Jul 16, 2010 @ 06:53:58

      I love it… eat and run…. with a different meaning than the typical eat and run…LOL

      Thanks for stopping by! Enjoyed checking out your blog! Great stuff!

      Many Blessings~
      Charli

      Reply

  2. Cindy
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 08:25:24

    Well Said

    Reply

  3. Hanlie
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 09:02:41

    That is why I always advocate adopting a way of eating and exercising that is sustainable for the rest of your life. I’ve been in this weight loss blogging community for three years and have seen countless people lose a great many pounds to the envy of the rest of us who are just plodding along. But sadly, 9 out of 10 have gained a chunk of their weight back again… because they have not fixed what was wrong in the first place and because they haven’t worked out how they were going to eat and move for the rest of their lives. Losing the weight is nothing compared to living a healthy life.

    Reply

    • extantwoman
      Jul 19, 2010 @ 07:24:31

      I have read some of those heart-breaking blogs that have done that very thing. I am excited with and for them as they lose, but then the discouragement is too much for me to follow along. I have been that person at times in my life…who knows how many pounds I have lost and gained over the years (my guess would be in the hundreds!) The difference between now and before is that I started working from the inside out. If you have read “The Beginning” of my story, I actually started this emotional journey in February, but did not lose a pound until May. I prayed for God’s guidance instead of putting my faith in another program or fitness plan. This approach has made all the difference!

      Thanks again for stopping by!
      Many Blessings~
      Charli

      Reply

Leave a Reply

