One at a Time

I am one of those people who can be very intense at times. I work hard, I play hard, I study hard, whatever I am doing, I am usually going full force. Guess what I have noticed? It’s the same way when I eat. I can be watching a movie and not even realize how much popcorn I ate as I shoveled in a handful at a time. I used to love eating potato chips. My favorites were the folded ones because it was an extra crunch like having two chips at one time. When I didn’t have the folded ones, I would just stack a few together. The same thing with French fries, I usually take several at a time. Why? Why have I always thought I needed to shove in so much at one time? Maybe it was because my goal was to reach that stuffed, numb feeling. I wasn’t really concerned with flavor or quality, rather, quantity was my focus.

I have learned a new concept! This is brilliant! I can eat finger foods such as popcorn, grapes, nuts or berries… get this!!….One… At…. A… Time!! What an idea! I can take one bite, chew it, taste it, savor the flavor and enjoy it…one bite at a time. There’s no need to try to race to finish it. The taste is the same…actually, eating  slower is better. It’s an entirely different experience when you allow yourself the opportunity to know what your food actually taste like. I guess that’s what happens when you’re eating for fuel instead of eating for recreation! Who knew!! =)

Thank you God for all of the ways You are revealing yourself and your ways to me!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hanlie
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 08:55:45

    Oh absolutely! You have to wonder at how we tell ourselves that we enjoy food, yet we shove it down so fast that we barely taste it…

    Reply

  2. Teri
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 16:10:22

    I love this. I am the same way. I wolf down food and drink as fast as I can. Sometimes I will have 2 to 3 refills of coke at a restaurant. I just did it with popsorn last night with the kids. Two bags of popcorn and 3 glasses of water later I was stuffed. I usually never eat after dinner. Justin has been working late recently and I find myself making worse choices when it is just me and the kids. I have been making a ton of fast food stops these past two weeks and now the late night snacking and food cravings have begun. I am so exited because I just got into a size 12 shorts (my goal is a 10) but I feel like it is all slipping away. Size 14 is creeping back up at me!! I took two weeks off of exercise and now I am eating bad again. I hope it does not continue another week!! I can’t keep going backwards. I hate yoyo’s!! I am going to try your one piece at a time theory and hope it helps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

