Pomp and Circumstance

Good evening honored guests, ladies and gentlemen and fellow past and future graduates.

It has been said that Change is inevitable. As we stand on the brink of moving into life beyond obesity, change will be inevitable. It is indeed gratifying to experience a statistical transition such as this. It is inevitable that becoming more proficient in our skills will enable us to tackle this life-long learning process with vigor. It is inevitable that structures, processes and relationships will change in our day-to-day lives. It is inevitable that we will face new challenges and it is inevitable that things may be different in the years ahead. Yes, I would agree, change is inevitable.

To those of you who have supported me with your prayers and encouragement, I thank you. Many of you have been by my side every step of this journey and I am forever grateful. Thank you for being a part of such a monumental milestone in my life!

Ok, in all seriousness, I am ecstatic! Today I have turned a major corner! According to the charts, at my height, over 175 is considered obese. Once I hit 174, I am simply overweight! LOL Since I was 20 years old, I have only been under 175 one time (and it lasted for about three days). Considering that I have been as high as 229, seeing 174 is quite exciting! I have graduated from OBESE to OVERWEIGHT! I have been working toward this goal for a long time and I am excited to see that number, but I’m not stopping there!!

My speech continues…

Furthermore, I would like to thank my Heavenly Father for continued love, support, acceptance and strength. I never dreamed this journey would become what it has…all because I gave up on worldly short term solutions and asked God to be my Guide.

The future is ours to have! It is our choice what kind of future it will be! May God Bless You Extantly!

(Oh, and by the way, I actually do graduate with my BA in 10 months =) LOL


8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theantijared
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 10:04:02

    That is awesome!!! You should be proud!

    Reply

  2. Cindy
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 10:05:03

    Awesome. I am so proud of you. Keep it up.

    Reply

  3. Melody
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 10:29:38

    Wow! Congrats! You have worked your behind off ( literally) I am so super proud of you! What a great example of what hard work can do! You go girl!

    Reply

  4. Teri
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 15:26:25

    Oh my goodness!! I am screaming for you right now!! WoooHooo!! You rock!! What an amazing accomplishment. Seeing you last week was great and you already look sooo good. I am so proud of you!! Can’t wait till I see you again…love you!!

    Reply

  5. Shelly
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 10:33:21

    😀 AWWWESOME JOB! VERY PROUD… ❤ ya

    Reply

  6. Hanlie
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 10:14:03

    This is awesome news! Well done and congratulations! I am so pleased for you and proud of you.

    I haven’t been overweight since 1995. I plan to reach that milestone in 2011.

    Reply

  7. Mary (A Merry Life)
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 11:54:12

    That is very awesome!! Congrats! 🙂

    Reply

  8. bendedspoon
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 01:46:47

    i am cheering for you up to the finish line! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

