Hummus

OK friends…. This is a stretch even for me…. But hear me out please! LOL

I have always thought hummus was some tree hugger mayonaise that I wanted no part of. Just the way it sounded and looked had no appeal to me. (Probably because it could not compare to the burgers and fries I was enjoying on a regular basis.) Anyway, last weekend I was at my future mother-in-laws house and she made her breakfast which was a wheat sandwich round and then she added hummus. Initially, it looked scary and weird to me, so I was getting ready to opt for toast with peanut butter when she convinced me to try it.

Shocking! It was actually really good! It was Roasted Red Pepper flavored and I discovered it was quite delicious. I was very surprised and concerned. Have I crossed over? Have I become one of them!?!?

So I had to check it out. Hummus is made primarily of chickpeas. The cool thing is you can add all kinds of different spices and flavors to make it taste exactly how you want it to. Historically, it was a staple in the Mediterranean region offering many nutritional benefits such as fiber, vitamins and iron. It is actually one of the oldest foods in the world and has been sustaining healthy bodies for centuries. Yet my ignorance kept me scared of it for years! LOL

So I guess I have crossed over. I am one of them. I am a person who likes hummus. Wow…. Gonna go hug a tree now…. Have a great day!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claudia
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 09:42:17

    I love hummus! Welcome to a wonderful group of “them”!! Your words started my day of with a smile!

    Reply

  2. Hanlie
    Aug 01, 2010 @ 13:31:25

    I couldn’t imagine life without hummus! In fact, I must make some this week… Welcome to the club!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

