My New Trainer!

This week I have had a new trainer step in to help me along! My 8 year old daughter has decided that she wants to be a part of this process, so she is offering advice and being my cheerleader…LOL It has been so fun watching her participate. She loves Zumba, and now she is taking up running with me. We set out to do a mile and I explained to her that I walk two minutes and run one minute. So she decides to “manage” the stopwatch and the whistle. It was so cute. She would give me updates on the seconds as we ran together and when we hit the one minute mark, she blew that whistle like she was coaching an NFL team. Too cute!

(Since we only went one mile…hey, she’s 8…. I came home and did an additional 20 minutes on the elliptical =) Trainer’s orders!

What I really loved about our run was the fact that we were spending time together, having great conversations, and she was seeing an entirely different example than she has in years… maybe even her entire life. I was always the mom that celebrated with food at every opportunity. When I thought we needed a snack…. we hit a drive-thru and got whatever we wanted..with extra salt and grease… and always a large soda. At the checkout…we got candy… cause you know, Snickers satisfies, right?  On Fridays, we always got ice-cream. Plus I was also the mom that made a dessert with almost every meals. Sugar…sugar…sugar! To top it all off, my kids have watched me sit on the couch and mindlessly eat chips and any other junk I could find for years. All habits that I do not want to pass down.

So in spite of how they have seen me live for years, I am grateful that for the past three months, they have seen a new mom… with new ways!   Gotta Run…I hear my trainer’s whistle blowing!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 10:39:45

    i’m so HAPPY 4 you 2…that is a AWWWESOME thing 4 yall…enjoy it 🙂 they grow up WAY 2 FAST! ❤ yall 😀

    Reply

  2. Teri
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 10:45:55

    I love it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

