Outgrowing

Usually when I have outgrown something, it is not a good thing. Often, outgrowing means my clothes are too tight and I need to make an embarrassing move into the next size. Not a fun experience.

Never in my life did I think I would outgrow something and be so excited! Today, my friends, I believe I have outgrown….

My stopwatch!

When I first started my walk/run/walks, I timed myself…. Walk two minutes, run one. Over time, I have switched on occasion and ran two, walked one. Well, this morning, since I struggled last week, I set out to have some time with God to recenter my thoughts while I walked and ran. I had my stopwatch, but I spent more time thinking of other things and not really paying attention to the time. I decided to listen to my body rather than the watch. I was so excited when I got home that I had to drive my route to see how far I ran. My whole trip was only 2 miles, but the cool thing is, I ran about 1.4 of that! Granted, it was in chunks, but I did run just under .5 mile without stopping! That is a victory for me! Especially since I started out running from one mailbox to the next! WooHoo! It feels great to outgrow something!

Oh, and can we please keep this just between us? My 8 year old trainer feels so very important using the stopwatch and the whistle. So, when she runs with me, we will still use it, but you and I know the truth, ok? LOL

Have a Blessed Day!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 12:13:59

    VERY PROUD OF YOU… ❤ u!

    Reply

  2. Teri
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 10:49:45

    Congratulations!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

