Listening

It has been said that God gave us two ears and one mouth for a reason… He wants us to listen twice as much as we speak. I believe that!

Who knew that listening would be such a skill!! There are some of us who feel that we have something to say that’s worth hearing, so we talk…. and we talk… and we talk…. LOL There is so much wisdom in listening. God speaks to us all the time… but so often we are too busy talking instead of listening to hear Him.

In my journey to better health, I have learned that when I listen to my body and the Voice of Truth, I am in a much better place than when I am the one talking. Most of us were born with a God given ability to listen…  to each other, to our bodies, and to Him. But somehow, we learn to tune out the things that we don’t want to hear. We can reprogram ourselves. If I truly listen to what my body needs, I can stop at “just enough.” If I am in tune with my natural design, I know when I need to eat… drink… move. My body would never tell me to overindulge. My mind would..and it does… but not my body. By its very natural design, it knows what I need.

Today, I am going to listen to my body, not a clock or a stopwatch. If I need hydration, I will drink. If I need nutrition, I will eat. If I need to move, I will move according to my capabilities.

Also today, I will love my body. Not for how it looks, but for what it can do!

Thank you God for being such an incredible engineer!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 10:42:35

    🙂

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 11:59:11

    Listening is so important! And you’ll find the more you listen to your body instead of external cues the better you will be able to give it what it wants!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

