One Small step in my morning, one Giant leap in my journey!

I did it! Uh-Huh! Oh-yeah! I did it!

Knowing that I had a 12 hour day of observations and classes ahead of me, I decided that I better run before it all started (that way I couldn’t talk myself out of it). So by 6:45 this morning, I was hitting the road! It was absolutely beautiful! Quiet mornings just seem to exude the calming peace of new beginnings. Perhaps that peacefulness is what allowed me to truly listen to my body this morning. I have to say…I was shocked! Apparently my body has been ready long before my mind.

With both of my faithful four-legged companions, I set out for a quick two mile walk/run. Since I have marked my route, I know exactly where each ½ mile point is located. After a few minutes of walking to warm up, I thought I would try to go at least my half mile that I did earlier this week. So I began to run…and I ran…and I ran…and I ran even more. I listened to my body, not my doubting thoughts and excuses and I ran past the ½ mile mark. Out of nowhere, the thought came over me that…here, in this moment, I feel like a real runner. A person who starts their day inviting good health and fresh choices into their life. I was no longer listening to my predetermined running plan. I was listening to my heart rate, my muscles, my burst of energy and positivity. It was then that I looked to my right and saw the most breathtaking sunrise in the crimson sky. With a huge smile on my face, peace in my heart and drive in my steps, I continued to run until I completed my mile. I ran a mile…without stopping… and it felt great!

Oh, how I love this new life!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 08:26:35

    U r doin awesome! i am so freakin proud of you ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

