“Runnin Runnin and Runnin”

“One of the most unique running events in Texas, the World’s Longest Causeway Run and Wellness Walk takes runners and walkers from Port Isabel to South Padre Island across the Queen Isabella Causeway. As participants top the causeway, they are treated to a breathtaking view of South Padre Island and the blue Gulf waters that lie on the other side.”

Now that I know I am really capable of running, I have set a new goal. I have lived in the South Padre Island area for over 7 years. I participate in the annual Causeway Run/Fitness Walk when possible… as a walker. I have walked the bridge 4 times. Each and every time I walk it, I think to myself… “Next year…next year… next year, I’m going to run it.”

Well friends, this is the year! I am going to run the bridge on January 8, 2011 for the first time ever and I am so excited!

The Fitness Walk is 3 miles and the Causeway Run is a 10K.  (See why I always walk it! LOL) I have exactly 5 months to get ready and I know I can do this. It will mean so much to me to be able to actually run it instead of walk …..while wishing I was running.

“Next year” has come! Five months from today! Whether walking or running, I assure you, it is an absolutely amazing experience to top the bridge and see our beautiful island! Care to join me? =)

http://www.portisabel.org/causeway_run/

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 09:31:12

    I will be there with you. I am going to need your encouragment to get me on my treadmill everyday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

