Balcony or Basement?

If I were to ask you about the people in your life who encourage you and build you up, you could probably name a few right away. If I were to ask you about the people who judge you and are critical, there would probably be a few faces pop into your mind instantly as well. One of my favorite books of all time is called Balcony People by Joyce Landorf Heatherley. Balcony people are those who are affirming and encouraging. They cheer you on and lift you up. You know the people in your balcony “have your back.”  They are the kind of people you want to be around.

Then there are the Basement people. You know them well. They are the ones that pull you down. They are critical and find fault in everything you do. They are quick to judge and can deflate your spirit with their words and unkind gestures.

We all need encouragement. Whether it’s a weight loss endeavor or any other goals you may be setting for yourself, having balcony people in your life is priceless. Basement people are everywhere, but you can respectfully choose to not allow them to be a part of your journey.

I don’t think Balconies can ever be full, but when I look up into my Balcony, it looks crowded and that is an amazing feeling! There are countless faces that I recognize. I have been incredibly blessed with a wonderful family and amazing friends. I have never had anyone encourage me continually the way my fiancé and his family does. There are friends that I have had since childhood that are some of my greatest cheerleaders. My Balcony is overflowing. Some of the faces in my Balcony are no longer here on earth, but I know they are cheering for me. The most remarkable thought to me is that according to the endless promises in the Bible, Jesus Himself stands in my Balcony. He wants me to have an “abundant life” and I feel His encouragement daily. And because of His example, I want to stand in the Balcony of others as well. I want to be an encourager and one who builds people up.

So look up, my friend! Look at the faces in your Balcony and be grateful for their love and support. Then decide whose Balcony you can stand in today!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John blackman
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 12:02:05

    I love what you said. That made me think about those who have always been there for me. Even though there wasn’t that many God has filled the void and my balcony is full and over flowing. Keep up the good work and we are so blessed to have you in our family.

    Reply

  2. Cindy
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 11:56:38

    gave me chills.

    Reply

  3. Cacy
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 16:22:31

    Thanks for your words of encouragement. You know in your heart I am definately in your balcony! I really like this analogy. I made me evaluate some things. This is one of those things that is very clear. We all stand someplace in everyones eyes. I will try to become a better balcony person both to myself and others…

    Reply

  4. Teri
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 16:44:30

    Wow! Great post! Thank you for always being in my balcony!! I miss you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

