A Love Story

Two hours ago, I was upset. I was extremely frustrated and set out for a walk/run to vent. As I started my walk, I was grumbling and complaining to God. “Why is this so hard?”  “Why couldn’t I have been born with good genes, a high metabolism and a dislike for sugar and fried food?” “Why me, God!?!?”

I had my iPod with me but I was too frustrated to even turn it on. However, as I continued down the road huffing and puffing, there was a goofy song hat I couldn’t get out of my head….

“….it’s a love story…. baby just say yes….”

A love story, huh? Is that what this is, God? If so, I am not feeling the “happily ever after.”

As the road continued, my wondering did too…. I started thinking about classic loves stories. I am a huge fan of Western Literature and I loved studying classics such as Jane Eyre, Hamlet, Homer’s Odyssey and yes… Romeo and Juliet. I have actually visited the famous balcony in Verona where Juliet awaits as Romeo proclaims his love for her. A tragic and triumphant love story.

I’m sure the endorphins helped my thinking, but I began to compare this journey to a love story.  Could it be, that like all classic love stories, my journey will have it’s share of tragedy and triumph?

The tragedy comes when I am consumed with discouragement, when I am overtaken by defeat and begin to feel depressed. The triumph comes in the very fact that God doesn’t leave me there. I have way more days that I feel triumphant with my small victories than days that I feel defeated. In fact, in the midst of my frustration this morning, I started looking for something to wear to my friends wedding tonight. I decided on an adorable skirt that I have never worn before. It’s a size 12. A few short months ago, my size 16’s and 18’s were tight and today I will wear a skirt that is a size 12 — and it’s not elastic! LOL We’re talking about an actual zipper! LOL

So yeah, I guess I could call this journey a love story. And this chapter… well, I think I can refer to this part as the Triumphant Chapter 12!!!

Psalm 136:2 says:

Give thanks to the God of gods.
His love endures forever.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. noel
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 12:18:09

    You have a fantastic love story, my friend! (God loves you more than you know!) And, size 12!!! Wow!! I’m so proud of you! Great work, my friend! When you start to get frustrated, just remember how far God has taken you… even when it seems the scale is not moving much, you’re now a 12, the numbers used to be higher! Remember Moses… see, it’s not so bad! At least you don’t have to wait 40 years to see the pay offs! love ya~

    Reply

  2. Teri
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 14:08:24

    Awesome!!! Yeah to size 12!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

