Blame it on the kids!

Have you ever used your kids as an excuse for your unhealthy eating habits? I can think back to many occasions that we made stops because …..”the kids are hungry, so we need to stop at McDonald’s….. The kids need a drink, so let’s go to Sonic….” Whatever “the kids” need, right? Wrong. It was usually whatever I wanted that directed our outings. I was also one of those parents who would say things like “I can’t cook healthier meals, the kids won’t eat that stuff!” Wow, now I can’t believe I used those excuses for so many years.

Let me tell you why…..

My kids have been going through these gradual healthy lifestyle changes with me and I am amazed! As I have shared recently, I am realizing how much they follow my lead when it comes to food choices. As I have continued to make healthy changes, so have they and I love it! Last night, we made pizza from scratch. We’re talking homemade dough and homemade pizza sauce. It was so fun and they loved it! It was piled with veggies, so other than the cheese, it was basically a vegan meal. Then, this morning before school, I made Apple Spice muffins with fresh apple juice and the pulp from using my new juicer. Again, they loved it!

There was a time when you could not make me believe that my children would ever eat these types of foods. Yet as they have witnessed changes in me, they too are making healthy changes! Amazing!

So now, what can I blame on my kids? I can blame them for motivating me to want to live healthier! I can blame them for giving me a reason every day to stay on track and to eat clean and move! I can blame them for showing me love and for inspiring me to be my best so that I can teach them better choices! What an honor and a blessing!

Thank you Father God for loving our family enough to lead us to better health!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. claudia
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 10:40:33

    Love that the kids are not only benefiting from healthy eating, but also from your positive attitude!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

