My Temple

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body,” (1 Cor. 6:19-20).

Ya know, I have heard that verse for many years and to consider that my body is literally a dwelling for the Holy Spirit is mind-boggling. I don’t think I have ever really thought about it like that. As I walked this morning, I began to think about this verse in a literal way… and …wow. If I picture MY BODY… my literal physical body as a literal dwelling of the Holy Spirit… then, friends, I need to CLEAN HOUSE!

How can I ask the Holy Spirit to dwell within my heart… when the arteries are being clogged by junk day after day?
How can I ask the Holy Spirit to dwell in this mind… when my thoughts and focus are blurred by the chemicals that I consume?
How can the Holy Spirit dwell in these bones and muscles….. when I do not use them properly or often enough?
How can I ask the Holy Spirit to dwell in this Temple… when it is crowded ~literally~ with the weight of the world on my shoulders… and my hips… and my thighs… and my … well, you get the picture.

If this body is supposed to be the dwelling place of the Holy Spirit, then I am way off track. I have allowed this body to be the dwelling place of pride, anger, negativity, selfishness, impatience… the list goes on. And when I look at the fruits of the Holy Spirit… wow… quite the opposite.. love, joy, peace, patience, kindness… the list goes on.

For me, and I think for many others, the Holy Spirit sounds so mysterious. I mean, really, just the name alone can give you chills. So I have been researching to find out more about the mystery and what He is all about.

No wonder it is difficult for us to understand, even Jesus said that many would not accept this truth:

“If you love me, you will obey what I command. 16And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever — 17the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you” (John 14:15-17).

“Counselor”…now that’s a cool thought… that means I have a Counselor living within me that I can call on 24/7 and ask …what should I do? Scripture says that the Holy Spirit is with me wherever I go and whatever I do. His power is available whenever I need it. Sounds like this guy knows me better than I know myself!

So what is the purpose of the Holy Spirit? Is it like an imaginary friend or what? No, not exactly. He is a friend with the Power of the Father dwelling in you and He offers many blessings… check it out:

The purpose of the Holy Spirit is to build you up in the body of Christ to the glory of God.
He regenerates (John 3:3-5).
He indwells (Rom. 8:11).
He anoints (1 John 2:27).
He baptizes (Acts 2:17-41).
He empowers (Micah 3:8).
He sanctifies (Rom. 15:16).
He comforts (John 14:16-26).
He gives joy (Rom. 14:17).
He gives discernment (1 Cor. 2:10-16).
He bears fruit (Gal. 5:22-23).
He gives gifts 1 Cor. 12:3-11).

Wow… I want that in my daily life! No need to try to do it all myself!

Verse 20 says, “Therefore, Honor God with your Body!” Today, my prayer is that with every decision I make, every morsel I consume, every thought that I have, may it be an honor to you Father God! And may it be obvious that my Temple is your dwelling place!

Leave a Reply

