One of the First Big Changes…

One of the first big changes for our family is that we no longer eat pork.

For years, we have heard that eating pork was wrong or bad or even sin. I never understood any of that and thought it was a bunch of religious mumbo jumbo. Plus, I’m from the south and grew up in the country. Not only did we eat pork often, my grandparents raised and slaughtered their own. That’s just the way it was. Never a question about it.

I continued the eating patterns that were passed to me and until recently, I added bacon or ham to my sandwiches, I had sausage with my breakfast, and on occasion, pork chops for dinner. My personal research has led me to the conclusion that pork no longer needs to be a part of our family’s diet. Here’s why:

“And the swine, because it divideth the hoof, yet cheweth not the cud, it [is] unclean unto you: ye shall not eat of their flesh, nor touch their dead carcase” Deuteronomy 14:8

Pigs eat anything and everything… then we eat them. Because of their nature to ingest “slop” or rats or decaying flesh or maggots or their own fecal waste, these animals are full of bacteria. They carry up to 200 diseases and 18 different parasites and worms… and we eat them! Yuck! Did you know that years ago, pork was considered meat for the poor man. It was never considered part of the menu for a sophisticated family. However, now pork is almost a delicacy to be eaten often and for many of us, (in one form or another) daily. Some would say that those diseases and bacteria are removed when the meat is thoroughly cooked, and I believe that many of them are. But not all… and I don’t know that it is worth the risk. This is actually a very controversial issue among Christians. Many have referred to the verses in the New Testament (Acts 10:9-16) stating that in these verses God declared all things clean. My personal belief is that this was an analogy and that God did not permit His people to begin eating the things He had already declared unclean. The swine did not change. It’s body was and is still full of bacteria and disease, it’s fat storage is still a place where toxins are deposited, (that used to be my favorite part of the bacon!! lol) and still, none of it should be going into our bodies.

As always, when we seek wisdom and understanding, God delivers. He spelled it all out long ago, and we have really gone astray. The problem is, our lack of knowledge is causing us to blindly go through this life harming ourselves and our families. How great is His faithfulness! There is so much more information that I have found in my research and I wish I could share it all with you. Let me just say, giving up bacon has not been easy! I assure you, it is because of what I have learned in my studies, that I am confident pork is unclean and therefore, I do not want to contribute to the decline in my health or that of my family.

***Please note: This is my personal journey of discovery, I am writing about and sharing what my family is experiencing. I do NOT judge or condemn anyone else’s decisions.

By the way, Past tense report: no sodas, choosing ‘mostly’ real foods, baby steps back into my workouts= down 3 lbs this week! WooHoo!

May God Bless you as you seek His Health Plan!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 10:31:36

    nice job 3 lbs…we had our 1st weigh-in…i lost not as much as i would like but its still a lost and not gain…have a good day…we have snow everywhere 2day 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

