Great Conversations

Wow! Last weeks post about pork prompted some great conversations! Clearly, the subject of whether to eat pork or not is quite controversial. As I stated before, this is my own personal conviction based on my studies. You will never see me telling anyone what they should or should not do. This is simply another step in my journey to better health.

One of the things I love about researching the Old Testament is that I feel I am understanding God better and I feel stronger in my Christian walk. It has been so cool to read about the beginning. How it was meant to be early on. Yes, many people say that the New Testament changed all of those initial “laws”. And maybe that is true. But I am fascinated by how God gave us such detailed instructions on how to live and how to take care of our bodies. I am a strong believer that we could benefit from going back to the beginning. Sometimes “progress” is not all it’s cracked up to be. Consider this thought….

Supposes all animals are clean. Knowing what we know about pigs, just because we CAN eat them….should we? Does this animal, in any way, draw us closer to good health? Is it smart to eat meat that reportedly takes 4 days to digest in the bowel instead of 2 days for “clean”meats? I guess for me, it has become more about the negative effects that I have learned about rather than the legalistic ideas of “Old” and “New,” “right” and “wrong,” “clean” and “unclean.”

Again, these are reasons for my decision, but this journey of rediscovering God’s plan for our health, then and now, has sparked a whole new way of thinking for me. If God said it in the Old Testament, then I want to understand. If Muslim dietary laws and Jewish dietary laws still believe eating pork is prohibited, then it makes me want to know why.

At the end of the day, what I have to think about is this: God blessed me with this body, imperfect as it may be, and He asked me to be a good steward of what He gave me. For years, I have failed at this task. I have mistreated my body and I have not respected my temple. The good news….He’s not finished with me yet!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jailbreak iphone 3gs 4.0
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 08:06:54

    I am very lucky to discover your blog.Great job done here.Love your blog theme also

    Reply

  2. chhiwat choumicha 2011
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 16:51:47

    Great work.I really appreciate your blog .thanks for sharing this post

    Reply

Leave a Reply

