I Have A Dream

Finally, I am nearing the end of my quest to become a teacher and this semester I am doing my student teaching. I LOVE it! I know this is what I was born to do and it feels amazing to finally be in the classroom. I must admit, that even though I love what I am doing, my life is busier than ever. Along with student teaching, I am taking two other classes. So it is a juggling act being a newlywed, a mom, a student and a student teacher…but I wouldn’t change a thing! Well….there is that one thing….

Recently, we honored Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. As I prepared a lesson for my class, I was really moved by the power in his famous “I Have A Dream” speech. So much so, that I began to think of my own Dreams. With a much lighter subject, and not on a global level… I, too, Have A Dream.

I have a Dream…
that someday there will be peace between my mind and my body
that chocolate icing will no longer have power over me
that I will drive past a fast food restaurant with the realization that all they can offer me is self-destruction
that there will be a day that I will no longer feel so uncomfortable in my skin
I dream that someday I will stop buying every magazine or book that promises weight loss
that I will have lasting success
that I will look in the mirror with positivity rather than negativity
that my thighs will not touch
that I will stop carrying this ongoing dilemma… good? bad? eat it? don”t eat it? maybe a little?
that I will be energized rather than lethargic
that my body will function the way it should, that I will breath easier, think clearer, move quicker
I dream of someday wearing a single digit size
Of not wanting to punch a mannequin in the face because every outfit looks perfect on her…and not so much on me
that I will be consistent with my workouts (because they really do feel good when it’s over)
that I will have good arms for wearing sleeveless
that my collar bones will come out of hiding (again)
that I will keep my focus on God’s Health Plan
that I will realize this is my struggle, but it does not define my life
Finally, Dr. King, I have a dream that I will not be judged by the color of my skin or the size of my clothes, but by the content of my character.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 09:08:47

    I share so much of your dream. I pray it comes true for both you and me! Love you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

