Security

There is a long list of things I really despise about being overweight. The mere physical discomfort is exhausting. The inner torment of my thoughts. The envy of thin people, etc. etc. The list goes on, but when I really think about the worst part, there is but one word. Insecurity. Being overweight makes me insecure. It sucks, but it’s true. When I am feeling good about my work outs and my food choices, I have a positive and happy demeanor. On the contrary, when I am going down the wrong path of health, I get caught up in such insecurity, I make myself crazy. When I am at the top of my game, I can stand in front of 200 people and give a dynamic children’s sermon, or speak to a full class of adults, or shake hands with company presidents and CEO’s. When I allow thoughts of self-doubt steal my security, I crumble at the thought of even looking someone in the eyes. How can weight diminish my view of my own value or intelligence? Insecurity is a very powerful and ugly thing. It robs us of a healthy self image, of healthy relationships and of inner balance and contentment.

What I know for sure in this moment (and wish to recall when I struggle) is that if I could only grasp who I am in Jesus Christ, my days of insecurity would be long gone! The Bible says that I am a child of God (John 1:12), that I belong to Him (1 Cor. 6:19-20), that I am a citizen of Heaven (Phil. 3:20). Of all of the promises that I read and find great comfort in, there is one thought that absolutely blows my mind…
John 15:15 As a disciple, I am a friend of Jesus Christ. ā€œI no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.ā€
He calls me friend. Jesus Christ, son of God, calls me, spastic blogger, Friend. Friend!?!?! I am His Friend!?!? No matter what size I am! Now, when I focus on those things, how could I ever be insecure? When I am looking outside of God for my security, I will never find it. The world will not give me security. My job, money, relationships… all good things, but not my security. Even a thin, toned, single digit sized body will not give me security. When my focus or my need for approval is on anything but God, I will ultimately feel disappointed and insecure. So I will focus on His promises. I will think on His words. I will learn all I can about Him and spend more time with Him. After all, He calls me friend!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 08:13:42

    Praise God! I love it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

