Breaking Up is Hard to Do

I loved how one of our participants in class described her relationship with food as a Romance. I really hadn’t ever thought about it that way, but as she spoke, I could see the correlation. 

Wikipedia defines romance as the pleasurable feeling of excitement and mystery associated with love. In the context of romantic love relationships, romance usually implies an expression of one’s love, or one’s deep emotional desires to connect.

Wow! That could totally define my relationship with food at times: Excitement…mystery…deep emotional desire….love. Does any of this sound familiar to you?

As I continue my study and as I see how my desires are misplaced, I see how dysfunctional this “romance” has become. I realize there is something I must do.

I have to “break up” with Food.

Now, I know it won’t be easy and I cannot completely break up with food, but I will have to be selective about what I allow to be a part of my life. I must create healthy boundaries. Junk food has to go. Overindulgence cannot be my friend any longer.
Unhealthy choices… We can’t have our ongoing rendezvous. Although I have found solace within your familiar embrace, I must sever ties and move on….into a positive, healthy, and uplifting relationship.

So even though breaking up is hard to do, in this case, it’s a matter of victory or defeat. So long, dysfunctional romance! I choose victory. I choose Jesus!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly
    May 12, 2011 @ 09:17:42

    nicely put…thanx chicka, i needed that 2day 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

