Bright, Shiny Objects

Today I taught a Children’s Church lesson that was probably way more powerful to me than it was to the kids….LOL We talked about keeping our eyes on Jesus and not being distracted. The story was in Matthew 14 when Jesus walked on water. He invited Peter to step out of the boat and walk to Him. As Peter began walking toward Jesus on the water, he was focused… and he was fine. However, once he allowed the distraction of the winds to deter his attention, he lost sight of Jesus and began to sink.
I don’t know about you, but I am a person who easily gets distracted. Seriously, my family continually jokes about the “bright, shiny objects” that seem to keep me from finishing things….even sentences…LOL I am that person who absolutely has to have a list and somewhat of a structure or I will wonder about aimlessly without reaching my goals.
This weight loss journey is no different. When I am focused, and my eyes are fixed on Jesus and what I know He wants to do with my life, I am fiercely determined. And the enemy knows this. So this is precisely when he allows stress to make me think I need chocolate, or convenience to make me think fast food will help, or a well-intentioned project to keep me occupied instead of working out. If I am not centering my focus, day by day and sometimes moment by moment, I will become distracted from the plans that I know my Heavenly Father has for me.
God, please help me to not lose focus and not get…. Umm, umm, oh yeah….distracted!

Leave a Reply

