That’s what friends are for…

In good times….and bad times….

So yesterday started out on a happy note with another pound lost. This brings my total loss to 5 pounds since I started using myfitnesspal.com. However, as encouraged as I felt when I first got up and weighed, the fiasco of trying to find an outfit for class pictures was enough to put anybody in a funk. I was so discouraged about the picture thing that I didn’t count my blessings that I was 5 pounds down. Well, my dear sweet friend and co-worker brought it to my attention in a powerful way this morning. She said she had a gift for me and that I had to promise to wear it all day. Not having any idea what was up her sleeve, I reluctantly agreed. To my surprise, she handed me a
5 pound bag of potatoes! She said that I needed to focus on the 5 pound accomplishment rather than being negative about what I have not accomplished yet. After lifting that bag for a while…..point taken. She’s so right, sometimes when it seems that I still have such a long way to go and that there’s so much more work to be done, it’s easy to miss the significance of the small victories. Thank you, my friend, for the “gentle” reminder!

Now I’m just wondering how she is going to carry in a 50 pound bag when I reach my goal! WooHoo!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karla
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 21:17:47

    You know, Sam’s has 50 pound bags of rice and beans. Just sayin’…

    I am SO PROUD of you! YOU CAN DO THIS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

