Day Five

Oh Saturday mornings! How I love thee! No alarm clock, no place to run to, no rush to jump out of bed. It’s so nice to wake up after a long rest and enjoy a relaxing slow morning. I sat out on the porch with my husband this morning reading my devotion and talking with him while he sipped on his coffee. Then I took my three dogs and went for a mile walk. It was a beautiful way to start the day.

Last night, my husband and I went on a date. I had looked online and found a Mediterranean restaurant and I was excited about trying it out. According to the menu online, there were several dishes that would allow me to stay within my Daniel fast guidelines. So we got to the restaurant and it was…..well, interesting. It was different but I was trying to have an open mind. Basically, everything they had was new to me so I was ready to explore new flavor sand textures. We had falafels and hummus and it was good, not great but good. Perhaps it’s an acquired taste?? There were a few other things on our plates, but I still don’t really know what it was….lol. The presentation was beautiful and very colorful. I don’t know for sure, but I think maybe it just wasn’t as spicy as we are used to, which surprised me because I was thinking Middle eastern foods were spicy. But anyway, we enjoyed the experience, but left feeling a bit unsatisfied. Later, my husband had ice cream and I had a bottled water….and I was happy. Seriously. Not angry, jealous, or having a pity party, I was sincerely content.

Picture this: you’ve just finished a major workout. Either you ran, biked, spent time on the treadmill….whatever exercise you do. Your heart is pounding, your breath is short, sweat is dripping from your body and you are THIRSTY! You grab a glass of water, but that’s not enough so you just pick up the jug and just start downing all that you can. You are guzzling this water and only take a break to get a deep breath so that you can turn it up again. Finally, your heart slows a bit, your breathing begins to balance out and your thirst feels somewhat quenched.

That, my friends, is how I am feeling right now. Thirsting for Christ. Soaking in everything that I can about Him. Trying to spend as much time as I can with Him. I am hungering for the Bread of Life and thirsting for Living Water. I want to know Him more. I want to be more like Him in my relationships. I want people to see me and know that I am a Child of God. I am reading about HIm and talking to Him maybe more than ever …..and it feels amazing.

By the way, for most of my walk this morning, it was raining. I decided not to turn back, because right now….there is nothing that could rain on my parade! Have a blessed, Saturday, my sweet reader!

Matthew 5:6
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.

John 6:35
Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.

John 6:51
I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats this bread will live forever. This bread is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.”

Leave a Reply

